22 C
Thursday, May 6, 2021
Home WRC Racing Trio Of Winners On Northeast Classic Undercard

Trio Of Winners On Northeast Classic Undercard

LOUDON, N.H. – Emerson Cayer recovered from a stumble on a late-race restart to win the 20-lap North East Mini Stock Tour feature that was part of the undercard during the Northeast Classic Sunday at New Hampshire Motor Speedway.

Cayer was way out in front with five laps to go when Ray King pounded the sand barrel at the pit road entrance, drawing the race’s only caution and forcing a lengthy clean-up.

When the event when back green, Cayer was slow to get up to speed and fell to fourth. Defending NEMST champion Desmond Skilling eventually wrestled the lead away from Nick Anderson while Cayer tried to come back. Cayer would lose ground on the long straightaways, but make it all back and then some in the turns.

As the field took the white flag, Cayer was back up to second, and he went to the outside of Skillings in turns one and two. As they drag-raced down the back stretch, Berlin, NH’s Cody Leblanc dove inside three-wide. Skillings and Leblanc barely touched entering turn three — but it was enough for Cayer to scoot around the high side and take the victory.

Skillings held off Leblanc for second. Anderson, Mike Viens, Jacob Gustafson, Nick Maniatis, Cris King, Jesse Copp, and Justin King completed the top-10.

Jimmy Renfrew Jr. earned some redemption after his ACT late model misfortune by winning the 8-cylinder Street Stock Open. Renfrew utterly dominated the event, going wire-to-wire in the 25-lap feature.

Four cautions slowed the field in the first nine laps, including a yellow on lap seven after Ryan Waterman and Jordan Russell pounded the turn-one wall. The resulting delay to repair damage to said wall was the only thing that could slow Renfrew down. A tight battle developed for the second-through-fifth spots during the second half of the race, but Renfrew was long gone, winning by more than nine seconds.

Devin McConologue fended off Steve Dickey for the runner-up position. Corey Hutchings, Kris Watson, Kyle Gero, T.J. Cochrane, Adam Maynard, Ryan Phillips, and Andrew Morin also took home top-10 finishes.

Jason Ferreira dominated the 25-lap EXIT Realty Pro Truck Challenge feature to win the series’ first NHMS visit. Ferreira started on the pole only to see Jim Boyle get the jump at the initial green flag.

After Ferreira held off a brief challenge from Ryan Vanasse for second, his truck suddenly came to life. He swung underneath Boyle on lap three to retake the top spot, then pulled away down the stretch to win the caution-free event.

Boyle parried Vanasse’s charges to take the second spot while Vanasse completed the podium. Andy Lindeman and former champion Gerard Giordano Jr. came home fourth and fifth.

The post Trio Of Winners On Northeast Classic Undercard appeared first on SPEED SPORT.

Source link

Gotmix is a one-stop destination for sports, entertainment and all the overlapping content in between. Get your membership today!


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -

Most Popular

Recent Comments

StylemixThemes on Hoddie
Coen Jacobs on Trucker Hat
Cobus Bester on Beanie