29.3 C
Saturday, July 31, 2021
Home WRC Racing Modified Qualifiers Take Center Stage At Port Royal

Modified Qualifiers Take Center Stage At Port Royal

PORT ROYAL, Pa. – Twenty-five spots were handed out for the $53,000-to-win Speed Showcase 200 on Friday night after the completion of five qualifying races.

The qualifiers were won by Danny Bouc, Mike Gular, Billy Pauch Jr., Erick Rudolph and Max McLaughlin. Those five along with Peter Britten, Michael Maresca, Matt Sheppard, Alex Yankowski and Ryan Godown all locked into top-10 redraw on Saturday.

However the headlines were not necessarily about who locked themselves in, but who had trouble in the 20-lap events.

Both Stewart Friesen and Mike Maresca had engines expire in their race cars. Friesen was running third and in a transfer spot, while Maresca’s motor failure came as he took the checkered flag.

Maresca will use Matt Sheppard’s backup car on Saturday, while Stewart Friesen is a guaranteed starter on Saturday due to being inside the top two in Short Track Super Series South Region points.

Another guaranteed starter due to his win at Georgetown Speedway this summer who had trouble was Ryan Watt. For the second night in a row, motor problems plagued the No. 14w, as he failed to make Thursday’s A-main as well.

The 602 Crate Sportsman division also locked in 25 drivers for Saturday’s 50-lap event, with Will Shields, Steve Darvis, Justin Grosso, Tanner Von Dohern and Brian Krummel winning Sportsman heat races.

The results:

Modified Qualifier 1: Danny Bouc, Peter Britten, Anthony Perrego, Richie Pratt Jr., Rich Laubach / Billy Decker, Ronnie Johnson, Brett Haas, Michael Trautschold, Ryan Riddle, Josh Delea, Ryan Watt (G), Eric Williams.

Modified Qualifier 2: Mike Gular, Michael Maresca, Mike Mahaney (G), Tyler Dippel, J.R. Heffner / Brandon Grosso, Ryan Susice, Tyler Siri, Chris Owstrowski, Joe Judge DNF Stewart Friesen (G), JoJo Watson, Matt Stangle 

Modified Qualifier 3: Billy Pauch Jr. (G), Matt Sheppard (G), Demetrious Drellos, Billy Van Pelt (G), Jeff Strunk / Danny Johnson, Josh Hohenforst, Dave Marcuccilli, Jared Umbenhauer, Justin Wright, Billy Pauch, Jacob Dgien, Kurt Hunderland. 

Modified Qualifier 4: Erick Rudolph, Alex Yankowski, Larry Wight, Billy Dunn, Jimmy Horton / Neal Williams, Matt Delorenzo, David Schilling, Brett Tonkin (G), Josh Nobriga, Adam Gage, Brian Gleason 

Modified Qualifier 5: Max McLaughlin, Mat Williamson, Ryan Godown, Rocky Warner, Alan Johnson / Andy Bachetti, Jordan Watson, Tim Fuller, Ron Cartwright, Danny Hierber, Jessica Friesen, Rusty Smith 

The post Modified Qualifiers Take Center Stage At Port Royal appeared first on SPEED SPORT.

Source link

Gotmix is a one-stop destination for sports, entertainment and all the overlapping content in between. Get your membership today!


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -

Most Popular

Recent Comments